MLB

#31
Drew Pomeranz
ERA W-L K
6.17 2-5 58
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-5 / 232
Position: SPBorn: 11/22/1988 Birthplace: Collierville, Tennessee
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: 1st Round by Indians (2010)


Latest News
Sep. 21 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 0.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Cleveland Indians 7-5 on Friday. Pomeranz struck out two, ending the game with a 6.24 ERA and 1.77 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 16 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST2:05 PM CST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz allowed two runs on three hits in 1.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Mets 4-3 on Sunday. Pomeranz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.17 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 14 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Mets 8-0 on Friday. Pomeranz struck out two, ending the game with a 6.06 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 5 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST2:02 PM CST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz allowed five runs on three hits and two walks in 0.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Atlanta Braves 9-8 on Wednesday. Pomeranz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.18 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 10:15 PM PT11:15 PM MT12:15 AM CT1:15 AM ET1:15 ET5:15 GMT13:15 10:15 PM MST12:15 AM EST11:15 PM CST12:45 AM VEN9:15 UAE12:15 AM CT-Drew Pomeranz allowed seven hits without giving up a run in 4.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Chicago White Sox 6-1 on Friday. Pomeranz struck out six, ending the game with a 5.54 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 29 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Miami Marlins 14-6 on Wednesday. Pomeranz struck out one, ending the game with a 5.89 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz allowed two runs on one hit and two walks in 4.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 10-3 on Friday. Pomeranz struck out two, ending the game with a 5.98 ERA and 1.72 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Cleveland Indians 6-3 on Tuesday. Pomeranz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.12 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Cleveland Indians 5-4 on Monday. Pomeranz struck out one, ending the game with a 6.23 ERA and 1.79 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST8:42 PM CST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz allowed three runs on four hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 7-4 on Wednesday. Pomeranz struck out one, ending the game with a 6.34 ERA and 1.83 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-4 on Saturday. Pomeranz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.96 ERA and 1.77 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST9:14 PM CST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz improved to 2-5, allowing no hits and one walk over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 19-12 on Friday. Pomeranz struck out one, ending the game with a 6.19 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz allowed two runs on four hits and five walks in 4.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 10-7 on Tuesday. Pomeranz struck out one, ending the game with a 6.31 ERA and 1.81 WHIP on the season.
July 31 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST8:30 PM CST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz fell to 1-5, allowing two runs on four hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 3-1 on Tuesday. Pomeranz struck out three, ending the game with a 6.56 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
July 24 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz fell to 1-4, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-6 on Tuesday. Pomeranz struck out four, ending the game with a 6.91 ERA and 1.82 WHIP on the season.
June 5 3:31 PM PT4:31 PM MT5:31 PM CT6:31 PM ET18:31 ET22:31 GMT6:31 3:31 PM MST5:31 PM EST4:31 PM CST6:01 PM VEN2:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Pomeranz (biceps tendinitis) has been activated from the DL and start Tuesday at Baltimore.
Analysis: Pomeranz has largely struggled during his minor league rehab assignment, but he threw six innings of one-run ball Wednesday in his most recent outing for Triple-A Pawtucket. It's also worth noting that the lowly Orioles represent as soft a landing spot as the Red Sox could find for the left-hander.
May 31 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST9:12 PM CST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz fell to 1-3, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Houston Astros 4-2 on Thursday. Pomeranz struck out five, ending the game with a 6.81 ERA and 1.84 WHIP on the season.
May 26 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST2:40 PM CST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)3:40 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz allowed five runs on six hits and three walks in 3.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Atlanta Braves 8-6 on Saturday. Pomeranz struck out three, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
May 18 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST8:33 PM CST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz fell to 1-2, allowing five runs - four earned - on seven hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-4 on Friday. Pomeranz struck out two, ending the game with a 5.97 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
May 17 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Pomeranz (1-1, 5.47) faces the Orioles for the first time this season on Friday.
Analysis: Pomeranz was 2-1 against Baltimore last season with an ERA of 1.96.
May 13 1:57 PM PT2:57 PM MT3:57 PM CT4:57 PM ET16:57 ET20:57 GMT4:57 1:57 PM MST3:57 PM EST2:57 PM CST4:27 PM VEN0:57 UAE (+1)3:57 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz allowed three runs on five hits and five walks in 4.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-3 on Sunday. Pomeranz struck out six, ending the game with a 5.47 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
May 8 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz allowed two runs on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 3-2 on Tuesday. Pomeranz struck out six, ending the game with a 5.23 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
May 2 12:55 PM PT1:55 PM MT2:55 PM CT3:55 PM ET15:55 ET19:55 GMT3:55 12:55 PM MST2:55 PM EST1:55 PM CST3:25 PM VEN23:55 UAE2:55 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz improved to 1-1, allowing three runs on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 5-4 on Wednesday. Pomeranz struck out three, ending the game with a 6.14 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 7:25 PM PT8:25 PM MT9:25 PM CT10:25 PM ET22:25 ET2:25 GMT10:25 7:25 PM MST9:25 PM EST8:25 PM CST9:55 PM VEN6:25 UAE (+1)9:25 PM CT-Drew Pomeranz fell to 0-1, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Friday. Pomeranz struck out four, ending the game with a 7.27 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 10:25 PM PT11:25 PM MT12:25 AM CT1:25 AM ET1:25 ET5:25 GMT13:25 10:25 PM MST12:25 AM EST11:25 PM CST12:55 AM VEN9:25 UAE12:25 AM CT-Drew Pomeranz allowed three runs on five hits and two walks in 3.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Oakland Athletics 7-3 on Friday. Pomeranz struck out seven, ending the game with a 7.36 ERA and 1.91 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 2 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET21:24 GMT5:24 2:24 PM MST4:24 PM EST3:24 PM CST4:54 PM VEN1:24 UAE (+1)3:24 PM CT-Pomeranz (forearm), who threw 5 1/3 innings last Friday in his second minor league rehab start, has been activated to make his season debut against Oakland.
Analysis: Pomeranz threw 86 pitches while allowing two runs for Double-A Portland and reported no issues afterward. "It seems like he's ready," manager Alex Cora said.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2011 Col 2 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 18.1 19 11 11 0 5 0 13 1.31 5.40
2012 Col 2 9 0 - 0 22 22 0 96.2 97 57 53 14 46 2 83 1.48 4.93
2013 Col 0 4 0 - 0 8 4 0 21.2 25 15 15 4 19 1 19 2.03 6.23
2014 Oak 5 4 0 - 0 20 10 0 69.0 51 22 18 7 26 0 64 1.12 2.35
2015 Oak 5 6 3 - 6 53 9 0 86.0 71 44 35 8 31 1 82 1.19 3.66
2016 SD 8 7 0 - 0 17 17 0 102.0 67 30 28 8 41 2 115 1.06 2.47
2016 Bos 3 5 0 - 0 14 13 0 68.2 70 35 35 14 24 1 71 1.37 4.59
2016 Tot 11 12 0 - 0 31 30 0 170.2 137 65 63 22 65 3 186 1.18 3.32
2017 Bos 17 6 0 - 0 32 32 0 173.2 166 69 64 19 69 0 174 1.35 3.32
2018 Bos 2 5 0 - 0 23 11 0 70.2 83 50 49 11 42 0 60 1.77 6.24
Career 44 47 3 - 6 193 122 0 706.2 649 333 308 85 303 7 681 1.35 3.92

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Col 4 5 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .200 .200 .200
2012 Col 22 26 2 6 2 0 1 1 1 15 0 0 .231 .259 .423
2013 Col 8 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 SD 17 33 2 5 0 0 1 4 0 19 0 0 .152 .152 .242
2016 Bos 14 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Tot 31 35 2 5 0 0 1 4 0 21 0 0 .143 .143 .229
2017 Bos 32 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 193 70 4 12 2 0 2 5 1 41 0 0 .171 .183 .286

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2016 Bos Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.2 4 2 2 1 2 1 7 4.91
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.2 4 2 2 1 2 1 7 4.91
2017 Bos Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.0 5 4 4 2 1 0 1 18.00
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.0 5 4 4 2 1 0 1 18.00
Career 0 1 0 - 0 3 1 0 5.2 9 6 6 3 3 1 8 9.53


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 719 94 84 89.2 52.56
Curveball 525 83 73 78 38.38
Changeup 29 85 79 82.4 2.12
Cut Fastball 95 89 81 85.6 6.94


@STATS_Insights